Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Evans, Young Bros make all WNC Team

Thomas Evans
Evans was named the Western North Carolina Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year after making 58 tackles and nine sacks. Evans and the Franklin defense allowed just 13.8 points a game. Along with fellow All-WNC selections Jacob and Parrish Young, he was a four-year starter and part of 35 wins for Franklin.

Jacob Young
Young made the second-most tackles (64) for the WNC Athletic Conference champions and shared the WNCAC Offensive Player of the Year with his twin brother, Parrish, after rushing for 934 yards and 15 touchdowns to go along with 13 receptions for 189 yards and a touchdown.

Parrish Young
Young earned All-Western North Carolina Athletic Conference honors after making 60 tackles, five interceptions and two sacks. Young shared the WNC Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year with his twin brother, Jacob, after rushing for 775 yards and 13 touchdowns to go along with 17 receptions for 249 yards and four touchdowns.

Evans named to All State Team

Franklin senior lineman Thomas Evans is part of the all-classifications all-state football team.

Evans was the Western North Carolina Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year and also manned a spot on the WNCAC champions’ offensive line. He is the only area player on the all-state team.

Panthers ranked 13th in final poll

Final 2011 3A POLL

1. Havelock (16-0)
2. Northern Guilford (14-1)
3. West Rowan (13-3)
4. Crest (12-4)
5. Charlotte Catholic (13-1)
6. Douglas Byrd (13-1)
7. Burns (13-2)
8. Asheville (12-1)
9. Hunt (13-1)
10. A.L. Brown (12-2)
11. South Point (10-1)
12. Cleveland (11-4)
13. Franklin (13-1)

NCHSAA Second Draft Conference Realignment

■Mountain Heritage
■Smoky Mountain

Mountain Heritage was dropped in the second draft -

All WNCAC Team announced

Brevard - Tyler Mote, Jess Nichols and Jariya Robinson
E. Henderson - Steffon Hill, Tyler Sexton, Seth Owen, Thomas Waddell, Hayden Cole, Dillon Burrell and Caleb Hodsden
Franklin - Jakob Sayer, Nathan Raby, Jeb Brewer, Austin Gibson, Cody Lindley, Justin Bohner, Jeremiah Young, Jacob Young and Parrish Young
N. Henderson - Tre Carter, Bryce Caldwell and Andrew Edwards
Pisgah - Kyle Blume, Matthew Inman, Dalton James and Garrett Holland
Smoky Mtn - Tom Pawlowski, Michael George, Drew Londo, Ethan Fortner and Blake Smith Tuscola - Tyler Hyde, Ben Hooper, Levi Duffield, Hunter Creson and Carter Poore W. henderson - Corey Fisher and Garrett Lancaster

Coach of the Year: David Napert (Smoky Mountain).
Defensive Player of the Year: Thomas Evans (Franklin).
Lineman of the Year: Hayden Cole (East Henderson).
Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Jacob Young (Franklin) and Parrish Young (Franklin).
Special Teams Player of the Year: Matthew Inman (Pisgah).

NCHSAA First draft Conference realignment

The NCHSAA has announced the first draft of the 2013 Conference realignment and it looks like Franklin will be placed in a new 2A conference beginning in 2013.

The First Draft will be

Smoky Mountain
Mountain Heritage

Panthers finish Season with 28-14 loss to Burns

What more can you ask for in a third round playoff game as the Panthers went toe to toe with the Burns Bulldogs. Franklin allowed the Bulldogs t go up 20-0 before Jeb Brewer threw a reverse option pass to Parrish Young to bring the game to 210-7 at the half. Franklin made some halftime adjustment and was able to move the ball in the second half, but several mistakes and big plays by the Burns Defense would prove too much in the end Burns would mount a long drive that would put them up 28-7, but the Panthers added a score on a Jacob Young run to bring the game to a 28-14 final. You could say it was not the end that we desired for this team but 13-1 is nothing to be ashamed of ever. Burns was beaten the next week by West Rowan. West Rowan was beaten in the State Championship game by Havelock.